Festival Opening: Mozart Requiem

Thursday 13 July 2017, 7.30pm
King’s College Chapel
by kind permission of the Provost and Fellows of King’s College

Orpheus Sinfonia
Festival Chorus
Conductor: Stephen Cleobury

Gemma Summerfield: soprano
Elisabeth Irvine: mezzo-soprano
Nick Pritchard: tenor
Christopher Webb: bass

Elgar Serenade for Strings in E minor, Op.20
Mozart Requiem Mass in D minor K626

Mozart’s unfinished Requiem, composed while he was also completing two operas, is one of the most poignant and beautiful works in the choral repertoire. Imagine his friends visiting him the night before his death to sing through what had so far been written, and Mozart writing the last notes he ever composed: the first eight bars of the Lacrimosa, and you have a piece that has been in the hearts of singers and listeners alike for the last two hundred years.

The Festival Chorus, made up of singers from choirs around East Anglia, join the Orpheus Sinfonia to perform this great work. Stephen Cleobury directs the choir and orchestra plus a quartet of top soloists in the wonderful setting of King’s College Chapel.

Twinned perfectly  with the Requiem is Elgar’s serene Serenade in E minor for Strings.  Where Mozart’s piece was his last, the Serenade was one of Elgar’s first, and was in fact declared by Elgar to be his favourite work.

Listen to recordings of    Mozart’s Requiem   Elgar Serenade for Strings

Tickets £35/30/25/15 (additional box office fee for credit/debit card bookings)
King’s College Box Office, 13 King’s Parade, Cambridge
Tel: 01223 769340