Cambridge Summer Music Festival presents Mendelssohn Octet

Friday 25 June, 6.00pm (New date)
Saffron Hall

This event was due to take place on 2 May but has been postponed to 25 June. Saffron Hall is contacting all ticket holders with further information about their options.

Haydn String Quartet Op 76 No 5

Mendelssohn Octet in E flat major, Op 20

Freya Goldmark, concert violinist and CSM’s Festival Director, will be joined by seven brilliant, young stars of the London music scene for this special performance – Cambridge Summer Music’s first live concert since lock down.

Haydn’s Op 76 quartets were composed towards the end of his life and are viewed by many as unequivocal masterpieces. No 5 is a particular favourite with audiences with its wonderfully tender and intimate slow movement and joyous, fun-loving Finale.

Mendelssohn’s Octet, although composed when he was only 16, is arguably amongst the finest pieces of chamber music written, full of inventive exuberance and sheer joie de vivre.

Violin: Freya Goldmark, Samuel Staples, Juliette Roos, Charlotte Spruit
Viola: Ting-Ru Lai, Francesca Gilbert
Cello: Maxim Calver, Ben Tarlton

Despite an average age of just 24 between them, these musicians have performed in all of the UK’s and many of Europe’s major concert halls. It will be a musical feast the likes of which we have been denied since the beginning of lockdown. It will also be one of the first opportunities for these musicians to practice their craft and perform to a live audience in over six months.

COVID safety measures
Saffron Hall is proving a pioneer in hosting indoor performance while rigorously observing COVID-19 regulations. Find out how they are keeping audiences safe.

We are very grateful to BDB Pitmans and General Factota for sponsorship of this event.

Freya Goldmark