Jennifer Pike & Martin Roscoe

Wednesday 17 July 2019, 8.00pm
Great Hall, Leys School

Jennifer Pike violin
Martin Roscoe piano

JS Bach Violin Sonata in F minor
Vaughan Williams The Lark Ascending
Bacewicz Polish Caprice
Elgar Violin Sonata

Two of the country’s finest instrumentalists, violinist Jennifer Pike and pianist Martin Roscoe have chosen a programme that touches on both Festival themes – JS Bach and women composers.

The four-movement Bach sonata is an original work for violin and keyboard (rather than a trio sonata arrangement), which reveals the contrapuntal and melodic possibilities of both instruments.

Although Polish Caprice by Grażyna Bacewicz – who was a virtuoso violinist as well as Poland’s most successful female composer – is only a couple of minutes long, it is striking in its dynamic and tonal drama, and is full of Polish folk tunes. Written in 1949, it remains a very popular recital piece.

Jennifer and Martin will also perform two of the repertoire’s best-known works, Vaughan Williams’ Lark Ascending – so redolent of an English summer’s day – and Elgar’s beautiful and introspective violin sonata, composed at the close of the First World War.

“Pike’s soaring Lark is a masterclass in expressive free flight.” The Strad Magazine

Jennifer Pike Website | Martin Roscoe Website| Venue Website | Map to Venue
Jennifer Pike Photo Credit: Arno-5 | Martin Roscoe Photo Credit: Eric Richmond

Tickets: £26 (students, children and unwaged £12) including booking fee

PRIORITY BOOKING for friends from May 1st. General sale opens May 14th